harper’s birth story – part 3 (the final chapter)

I HEART EPIDURALS.
once i said GIVEMEMYEPIDURALNOWPLEASE (and when it was time to get it) the anesthesiologist came in and asked me a few questions and then got to work on my spine (OUCH.)  and i got the epidural even though we didn’t watch the video we were supposed to before you go in.  oops.  hope no one from cox is reading this…
those things are AMAZING, folks. 
i thought delivery was going to be uber painful, especially the pushing part.
honestly i felt no pain as i pushed a human out of my body.
you do think (well, i did and possibly those of you who haven’t had the pleasure of labor & delivery yet) it’s going to be this horrible, agonizing thing where you are screaming at/smacking your husband, yelling at the top of your lungs and covered in sweat writhing all over the place.
not so.
(at least not for me… hey, everyone is different).
because of the lovely epidural, i felt nothing down there as i pushed.  no pain.
which does make it a wee bit hard when you are asked to push and you are not really sure how to push, when you can’t feel it!
as i was pushing, our sweet nurse hannah held my left leg and geoff held my right.  i used a mirror so that i could see what was happening and it helped a ton to encourage me to keep on, when i felt like my head might explode.

might as well smile

you know how epidurals make your torso-down completely NUMB?
wellll, hannah went to check one of the monitors and set my left leg down on the table…
before i knew it, WHOMP. 
my numb leg fell off the table.
UMMM HELP…? 
can’t lift mah leg back up people…
we all started laughing so hard.  it was the perfect funny moment during labor.
they slowed me down a bit at one point because the lovely & amazing dr. mccall was delivering another baby.  i was pushing every other contraction and not very hard.
finally, dr. mccall came in and within 2 pushes, our little girl’s head was out. 
one more and she was completely birthed.  out.  no longer inside me.

her moment

i will never ever forget the way i felt in that exact moment. 
(and i am so grateful to the sweet, nameless nurse who took our camera and offered to take pictures of the whole thing.)
there is nothing that compares to the moment when you see, for the first time, the little person who you have talked to, prayed over, and loved so deeply for so long. 
“it was you.  it was you all along.”
she was here, right here. 
it was surreal and unbelieveably extraordinary.
it all became real in a single moment.  and she was ours.  all ours.
it was 3:32 pm on may 26 and she had arrived.

photo taken a few minutes late... but i had to have this picture

thank you, dr mccall

new daddy cutting the cord

well, hello you

brand new

no...

way...

a healthy 8 pounds 6 ounces

twenty and one half inches

aren't you gorgeous?!

then for the second best part – getting to share it with our family.

waiting-patiently-but-DYING-to-meet-her

me with my daddy

my sweet brother/first time uncle

my mom/The Mahm/Gigi

sweet new baby

This entry was posted in birth, dr. mccall, harper, the grandparents. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to harper’s birth story – part 3 (the final chapter)

  1. Pat Chapman says:

    bawling….weeping….joyful
    o wow

  2. Katie says:

    loved the story friend!!! i felt like i was there with you!!! and OOOOO how i love that sweet girl! AND her mommy!!! i can’t wait to hug her (and you) and give her kisses (and you too if you want ’em, ha!)

    love you linds XOXO

  3. Jen says:

    You will treasure this always! Beautifully written. She is precious and I love how you described the transition from being in your womb….praying for her, getting to know her, etc etc to in one second being right there. I am so happy for you. This makes me excited for my little man to come in 4 months. 🙂

    P.S. Unfortunately I happen to be one of the few unlucky ones that an epidural will NEVER work on me so I am forced to do it without one. Ugh! But I’m so glad it worked for you. I hear they are wonderful!!

  4. Shelly says:

    love how you wrote this lindsay. what a beautiful birth story! truly a blessing from the Lord for such a sweet couple. we love you guys!
    shelly and phillip

  5. I can’t wait for her to see that picture of you seeing her for the first time… 🙂 So happy for you guys! And so thankful for this cute little blog so I can feel like i’m sitting in Branson while you’re pushing babies out of you! 🙂 Love you friend!

  6. Toni Wellhausen says:

    Wonderful memories, Lindsay….you will forever be happy you wrote all this now instead of later. Made me laugh, cry, and go awwwwwwww……That last picture is absolutely priceless!

  7. Kim Maguire says:

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! I loved your story and your little girl is just beautiful! Congrats to you both!

    Kim

Leave a Reply

