harper’s birth story – part 2b

ok, where did we leave off…?
ah yes, we were RELUCTANTLY walking down the hospital L&D wing to our new room, room 11.  and yes, i did gripe the entire way.  i mean i was walking down a long hallway with contractions.  not fun or cool.
and the (almost) worse part is, they broke my water BEFORE we had to move rooms – so i was walking down the hallway holding 2 puppy pads as panties, hoping i wasn’t leaving a river in my wake.  haha… there probably was a wake as i walked down the hall, leaking amniotic fluid.  slish slosh.  my bad…
at least my sweet husband was pushing my IV pole-thing for me.
so as we got into our new room, the contractions got really bad (hey, they get worse – who KNEW?) they set up a yoga/birthing ball for me to sit on (it really did help), complete with double puppy pads.

that water-breaking thing is just weird.  if i rose even the least bit from my ball, it was niagra, people.
when i got close to pushing, they had me hooked up to monitors to watch the baby’s heartbeat and mine.

and the closer i got, i guess my heartrate or hers went down so i had to be on oxygen for a little while.  enter hannah, our nurse that went through the delivery with us.  she was amazing & hooked me up as soon as she came into the room and was updated by our departing nurse.
(this photo’s for you, dad…)

This entry was posted in birth, dr. mccall, harper, third trimester. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

